chuchu chagachaga big red car…

October 18, 2010 § 6 Comments


so sang the Wiggles..this song is played so many times in my house (and in my head) that it only deemed inevitable that I would make some sort of illustration inspired by it..so thats how I made a mono print of a red car for my son..I used Japanese rice paper as its very delicate and picks up all fine details..I used normal gouache colors to paint the image on an acrylic sheet..and while the paint was still wet, I transferred the image onto the paper by putting the paper directly on the image..I used back of a table spoon to transfer the image from acrylic sheet to the paper..this process is called buffing.

chu chu chaga chaga big red car

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to chuchu chagachaga big red car…

  • the ‘broken road’ effect looks fit! Is jap paper waxy?

  • amna says:

    No, it has a beautiful texture..kind of like kitchen towel so its very absorbent. I kept my drawing very watery and it soaked it up very well. This paper is used for lithography mostly.

  • Soofia Tariq says:

    Luv yr illustration!

    Looking 4ward 2 a picture book some day written by Marya and illustrated by u (INSHALLAH!).

  • MA Jan says:

    The painting looks so real well like roads in KP ( you have to decipher yourself) or for that matter any where else in Pakistan. the reason for my writing this piece is not to lament on the condition of roads here . on the contrary the beauty of the painting compelled me . need I say more. it is simply magical and enchanting. hope to see more soon.
    MA Jan

    • amna says:

      hahaha you know what..as I was making this illustration, I told Aman that this road looks like the ones we have back at home i.e. Pakistan. Thank you for your encouraging comments..they made my day 🙂
      (hugs)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading chuchu chagachaga big red car… at Amna Art Studio.

meta

